Michal (Mitak) Mahgerefteh

  Poetry and Fine Art 

About Michal (Mitak) Mahgerefteh

Michal (Mitak) Mahgerefteh is an award-winning artist and poet from Norfolk, Virginia. Her poetry has been published in over one-hundred magazines, in print and eEditions. She received many awards for her poetry, most recently from The Poetry Society of Texas, Green River Writers, The Poetry Society of Pennsylvania, Austin Poetry Society, and Bethesda Writing Competition. Michal is The Poetry Society of Virginia student contest judge and was the 2015 book award chair. Since 2013, Michal is The Anna Davidson Rosenberg Poetry Award chair and committee member, and since 2010, she is the editor and publisher of  Poetica Publishing Company, assisting new authors with the process of self-publishing poetry chapbooks and full collections. 

Michal is the author of four poetry collections: Field of Harps (2016); Sipping Memories (2014 and 2016);What's Left Behind (2015); In My Bustan 2009). 
Her fifth collection, Solely Entwined, is a work-in-progress forthcoming March 2019 (hopefully...).  

Lastly, Michal enjoys traveling the world with her family, hiking in the mountains of west Virginia, watching Sci -Fi movies, reading books on subjects
she doesn't care about, visiting art museums for the inspiration, sharing her poetry at local open-mic events, workshops, and book festivals. 

Contact: MitakArt@aol.com 
Thank you for visiting!